[Lathe] SB 9" lathe

56100Jimmy

Registered
Registered
Hello ,I'm a Beginner, I have a SB 9"#57574NAR .Been sitting quite a while .Just started to check out things and the larger Gib is missing on the cross feed is this something that can be bought new, or is it something that has to be made? How to "change" the oil on the spindle ? Thanks in advance!

Gib: You'll probably have to make it, unless ebay or SBLatheman over on PM has one in stock.

Oil: There is an allen head plug under the GITS oilers. Remove the plug and drain away. I'm pretty sure of this, but if you posted pics we would have a better understanding of your lathe.

Question: How long has it been since the felts were changed on your lathe?

Grizzly now owns the rights to South Bend and manufactures "copies" of the original machines overseas. A gib from one of the new machines might fit, maybe try calling their parts department. Otherwise, You might be able to find a used gib on eBay etc, if not, you'll probably need to make one.

Hello ,I'm a Beginner, I have a SB 9"#57574NAR .Been sitting quite a while .Just started to check out things and the larger Gib is missing on the cross feed is this something that can be bought new, or is it something that has to be made? How to "change" the oil on the spindle ? Thanks in advance!
Welcome to the site. Tons of info and super smart guys to help us.

Gib: You'll probably have to make it, unless ebay or SBLatheman over on PM has one in stock.

Oil: There is an allen head plug under the GITS oilers. Remove the plug and drain away. I'm pretty sure of this, but if you posted pics we would have a better understanding of your lathe.

Question: How long has it been since the felts were changed on your lathe?
Thanks so much for the info ,I have had it for quite awhile, I have never ran the machine it was in a high school machine shop setting.
I would have to assume it has never had the felts changed

Good day, I have a couple used gibs.
I sent you a pm
Thanks so much!