SCHOOL OF HARDKNOCKS. (please feel free to add yours too those are the best safety messages in my opinion)

JHerdebu

Registered
Registered
Ok I have 2 to begin this thread with. The First one is about BAD HABITS from more than 40 years ago. The other is about the Physics of Motion from just last winter and why its important.

#1 Back in early 1989 I was a young Army Mechanic that needed to repair a leaking exhaust pipe. I was gas welding with the Oxy-Acetylene torch and a stick of filler rod welding away . The bad habit I would like to share was scratching spots that itched with the back end of filler rod. I normally weld with torch in left, rod in right. Well my head itched and I scratched with the torch instead of the back end of the Rod. Singed my scalp real quick.

#2 Last winter I was basically new to the engine lathe and their operations but I inherited an old tired Craftsman 618. So I read a lot and gathered knowledge from many friends and bought a brand new 30 lb. 4 jaw and back plate. I took them to a professional shop and goy them mated together, I thought this is great, put it together turn it on and start making chips. WRONG! Like an idiot, I had it in the highest gear change, fastest belt speed ratio, turned it on and tensioned the belt it was running true and level but I did notice it was really screaming. at least 2000+ rpms. I didn't want to wreck anything so I slapped my cool new Emergency Stop button. The 618 doesn't have a locking collar or anything so when the motor stopped the drive line slowed really quick, the chuck didn't and came off flying at my head. I reflex slapped it away from hitting me in the FACE, so a few stitches and a really bruised hand and here I sit a year later on a really cold Sunday morning, sharing with you what I found out not to do.