Seattle .125 ball bearings ( needed for ball screw repair / rebuild )

cut2cut

Registered
Registered
I'm in the Seattle area and hoping there is another hobbyist in the area that has extra .125 ball bearings. To be precise, I'd prefer ones just a bit smaller as I'm trying to diagnose why my ball screw is tight. Outside of that, I suppose it is possible that one ball was missing from the factory but I'm not experienced enough to know if just a ball or two missing could create so much friction. I've torn it apart, cleaned and regreased it but the issue remains after reassembly although slightly smoother.
Any advice, and or if anyone in the Seattle area is hoarding an abundant supply of =< .125 ball bearings, I'd appreciate the help. I'm trying to avoid losing the use of my mill for 2 weeks if I have to send the ball screw away to be fixed or worse replaced.

Jake

3mm balls are very close to, but slightly smaller than .125" balls, 3mm is .1181". Measure the balls carefully.

A bicycle repair shop may have what you want. When I needed a ball for detent, the guy just handed me 3 of them.

Craig

Balls for use in ball screws come in standard size as well as varied degrees of oversize. A slight difference in size is very noticeable in the assembly. The oversize balls are often used when ball screws are repaired or reconditioned. Just a heads up on this.

Balls for use in ball screws come in standard size as well as varied degrees of oversize. A slight difference in size is very noticeable in the assembly. The oversize balls are often used when ball screws are repaired or reconditioned. Just a heads up on this.