Sheet metal forming books?

WesPete66

Active User
Registered
Amongst my stalled projects right now is to build replacement hoppers for an antique burr mill, and a corn grinder that I am restoring. The hopper for the grinder is a 4-sided assy that tapers in at the bottom. I can see how to build that one. But the burr mill uses a tapered cone or funnel type assy, which has me puzzled. The bottom/base section of it was originally a casting. The lower section of the hopper is a tapered cone, and at the top is a straight cylinder. The two pieces were mechanically joined (not soldered or riveted). As I don't have either hopper to look at, does anyone here know how that joint would have been constructed, as in what are the edge shapes used to create that joint and how to make them? (the pic is I believe an original hopper)

Also, can anyone refer me to any older books about sheet metal forming that I could learn from?

Thanks!

Dempster_Hopper-2.jpg

I have been using this book for 35 years and it covers everything. Now that I see the price I think I'll take better care of it!

Thanks for the headsup on that book! I did a search for it and you are right, it’s anywhere from $100 to $250! Looked on eBay and pretty much the same thing. I happened to look on the completed and there was all kinds of crazy prices but one from a reputable dealer started at $17 auction and nobody bid, doh! Checked back and he’d just relisted for $15 with a best offer, I offered $20(why not?) and just got notice to pay! Total $25 with shipping. Go figgur about the expensive ones.

Looking fwd to getting it and do some learning out of it.