Shop Fire

Moderatemixed

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Hey everyone. I am fairly new to machining and have spent the last 4 years “tooling up” and putting together a shop that I am proud of. It has really only been in the last 6 months that I’ve been starting to really “machine” anything, and most recently have in the last month been actively beginning my “journey” into this hobby. With that said, I started with a drawbar which I am pleased to say that the sixth attempt was “the charm”, lol.

While single point threading the hot chips were curling off the workpiece, the smoke rising from the lubricating oil and it started me thinking. It was later as my shaper was peeling hot chip after hot chip from the piece of metal that I was squaring that again I took notice. I use a dedicated central vac for my shop. It is physically located out in my garage and plumbed into my shop. When chips are vacuumed up they go through the hose, into a stainless steel “dust deputy” cyclonic separator. The heavy chips and debris stay in the separator and air (and I suppose fine material) go through rigid pipe and out to the garage unit.

My concern comes from the reality that in the separator is metal and residual oil. Has anyone ever seen a shop fire occur? How likely is it that the hot chips might start a fire? I generally am not cleaning up until the chips have cooled, but I was vacuuming the ships right off of the shaper and they were really hot, which again was got me thinking about this.

As I have spent a great deal of time setting up shop, watching YouTube tutorial videos and reading virtually everything that I can get my hands on it occurs to me not one bit of information has surfaces on common (outside of common sense) practice regarding fires and machining.