Shop Press Upgrade

epanzella

Active User
Registered
I'm not a fan of wearing out my lathe bed doing keyways so I decided to get a broach set in the near future. This turned my thoughts to how I was going to drive the broaches. I could by an arbor press for which I have no room or upgrade my shop press with an air/hydraulic unit to speed up the process. I picked door # 2. With a coupon I got a harbor freight 20 ton hybrid jack for just over a hundred bucks. As the jack extension was now speeded up I decided to make a tool less knob for the retraction to increase efficiency a bit more. I'm delighted the way this turned out and it only too a few hours.

Attachments

• AIR PUMP VID.MOV
    49.4 MB
That air-over jack makes a huge difference! When I finally did it I wondered why it took me so long.

GsT

It’s not about speed. It’s about feel. There is no way you know with a hydraulic press if the broach is stuck. The shops I worked in it was immediate termination if you got caught using a hydraulic press to broach with. You might want to make a 1/4” plate screen to stand behind as if that broach shatters we’re talking HSS shards that will go right through you.

It’s not about speed. It’s about feel. There is no way you know with a hydraulic press if the broach is stuck. The shops I worked in it was immediate termination if you got caught using a hydraulic press to broach with. You might want to make a 1/4” plate screen to stand behind as if that broach shatters we’re talking HSS shards that will go right through you.
I see Kieth Fenner and others run broaches with shop presses all the time. They back off the ram every 2 inches or so to stop any side pressure from building. That's why I made that quick release knob. I can quickly back off the ram without tools.