Shoring up my 618

veniceboo

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Understanding that the Atlas 618 is a small lathe, almost a toy even, I'm wondering if my OEM legs and the motor mount are adding to the vibration and if there's anything I can do that would tighten the lathe up. The reason I think the legs are part of the problem is that the footprint is not very big, and even though the lathe is bolted to the concrete floor of my garage you can only do so much downward.

Then there's the way that the motor is mounted, which I assume is the way these came from Atlas? I'm very new to machining and until I got this lathe I had never turned anything on any lathe whatsoever. I know that pictures are not enough to diagnose the problem but I am suspicious that the motor arrangement is part of the problem and the lack of base width is keeping the lathe from being more stable even though it's bolted down. Thoughts?
20220604_185955.jpg20220604_190027.jpg

I don't have a 618. I have a Craftsman 12x36. So what I have to say may not be applicable to your lathe.

Have you looked in the MOLO (manual of lathe operations) for info on how the lathe should be mounted. You should make the small donation to the forum so you can access the downloads section. A copy of the MOLO will be in the downloads. This would be the first thing that I would do.

The first thing that I noticed in the pictures is the wood bench top has a split in it. This could be part of the problem. Is the motor held firmly in place? Or is it allow to float with only the weight of the motor keeping the belt tight? My 12x36 has a screw that keeps the motor from moving and keeps the tension on the belt.

Have you checked the lathe bed for twist?

Have you checked all bolts to make sure they are tight.

These would be the things that I would check first.

Thanks for the tips. I have a brand new, shiny copy of the MOLO and I will dive in. I didn't know about donations and I went and did that as well.