Soft Jaws For Chinese Bench Top/mini Lathe

6061T6

Registered
Registered
Hi, this is my first post and I am totally new to the world of machining.
I have been making parts out of 6061 aluminum with my Sieg SC4 small lathe (8.5x20) and have run into one problem: how do I grip soft aluminum without marring the threads or other features I have cut into it? I also need to maintain excellent concentricity as these parts will be used in optics where the required mechanical tolerances are quite stringent.

I realize that soft jaws are the right solution and have been reading several excellent threads on this forum archives. The jaws that come with the lathe (and after market ones too) are all single piece.

I think I will eventually have to spring for a Bison 5" (or similar) 2 piece 3 jaw chuck to use soft jaws.

How do I mount the Bison on the Sieg SC4? The backplate on the Sieg has a 100mm flange which is also the same as the Sieg mini lathes.
Does Bison or someone else make a backplate that can be easily adapted?

Alternatively are there other brands that someone here has adapted successfully to the sieg mini lathes?

All help highly appreciated!

Regards

If concentricity is truly important you may want to switch to collets, especially if you are working with repetitive diameters. Otherwise it's possible to simply use pieces of thin strapping as jaw protectors to protect your work from the sharp edges of hardened jaws. Any number of YouTube videos show how.
Welcome!

Steve Shannon, P.E.

What Steve said, especially about collets. Poor man's collets work OK, a piece of aluminium or copper pipe/tube, slit so it can open and close with the chuck jaws, if you're posh make a few and bore them to the size of the work before slitting.

Dave H. (the other one)

Collets probably wont work for me as I will be using diameters of upto 3" or more. Some lateral shift might be tolerable ( a few thousands) but tilt of any sort is terrible for optics.