Solar on the travel trailer

Janderso

Jeff Anderson
H-M Platinum Supporter
I’m just beginning the research on adding solar panels with storage capacity that will serve our 20 foot Lance.
It’s a 2016 model.
There is nothing worse than turning on the heater when it’s 30 degrees outside with no result.
This happened to us this last spring.
Running the generator isn’t always the best option.

If you have installed a system, what route did you choose?

Hi Jeff,

I don't know much about it myself but I have a friend that just installed a system on his travel trailer and sends to really know what he is talking about. Had helped several members on a Ford truck forum. If you would like I can get you in touch. He's a really nice guy and I'm sure more then willing to help.

Tim

My wife and I spend at least 100 nights camping every year.

I put 200 watts on roof of my roadtrek a couple years ago when I switched from 3 way to all electric refrigerator. I use this van for travelling and off grid camping in the western us. Not hard, used some simple z brackets to glue and screw to roof of my van. All purchased as a kit from windynation on Amazon. I added a couple MC4 extension cable to complete setup. This uses a simple 30 amp controller, not an MPPT unit as I figured I over-sized wattage needed to run my van when camping. Switching to an MPPT gives 20 percent or more output from same size solar panels which left me with an easy upgrade if I needed more amp-hours. My van has 2 coach (and 1 independent chassis battery) so I have a reasonable amount of storage for my needs.

I have an airstream with factory solar with a very similar sized setup and 2 agm batteries. But a 28 foot airstream in a paved campground isn't really camping.....