Some Good, Some Bad, Some Just Strange!!

Buffalo21

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Yesterday, I posted about my very happy dealings with Rocky Mountain CNC, we have had dealings with certain companies, that have ranged from good, to inconvenient, to down right terrible. I have a list of about 5 companies, that unless, all else fails, that I avoid like the plague, dealing with them vs a root canal, colonoscopy or IRS audit, would be a toss up. Like most things in life, some people swear by a vendor and others swear at them, it seems to be the luck of the draw.

My day job is an industrial boiler service tech, doing routine service, new boiler start ups, burner and control upgrades, for a couple of different companies, for going on 45+ yrs. I also do all of the company’s fabrication, construction and piping, I made parts for obsolete equipment still in use, burner adapter plates, stack dampers, conveyors and other equipment. The parent company, owns 5 other service companies and 12-15 other businesses, I make parts for most of them. It use to be about 90% field work and about 10% work in the shop. Over the last 5-6 yrs that ratio has changed to closer to 60% field and 40% shop.

The company pays for all of the consumables, a vast majority of the tooling and whatever else, is needed. One of the owners asked a question about a series of parts, that need to be done shortly and asked if there was anything I needed.The wrong question to ask a guy doing machining, I told him I could use a milling machine head assembly (Bridgeport J head clone), just so say something. He asked roughly how much, I said depending on the brand, options and availability, as high as $3500. He nodded and said interesting and walked away. On Tuesday, he called and said, buy what you want/need and throw it on the company credit card.