South Bend Lathe has Chatter

rogerl

Registered
Registered
My dad purchased a used 11" South Bend Lathe in 1978. The lathe has the 1 5/8-8 spindle thread and the 7/8 thru hole in the spindle. I was in a school for many years of its life. He completely refurbished it and used it for years. 3 years ago my dad passed away and last year I brought the lathe to my shop. I have been noticing lately that when I use the parting tool or if I take heavier cuts I will get chatter. I have an Aloris BXA tool post on the lathe.
I am thinking I need to tighten up the spindle bearings. I think I remember from helping him rebuild the lather that there is a shim pack under the bearing caps and I can remove or replace a shim to tighten the bearings.
I have never done this before and I am seeking advice from people who have done this before. I do not want to make the bearings too tight and cause them to gall. How do I adjust the bearings or test the bearing set up I currently have. The chatter might be coming from somewhere else. The compound is set very tight and I rarely use it.
Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Roger L

Joe Py may help with your set-up.
Everyone struggles with parting at some time or another. My 13" South Bend would always suggest, "use the horizontal saw".
Rigidity is key.

What do you mean by "chatter"? What is the model number of your lathe?

Here's the spindle bearing adjustment proceedure for year 1940 and younger lathes. I don't know if your 11" would adjust the same.

Attachments

• SBL_Headstock_Bearing_Adjustment.pdf
    700.3 KB · Views: 24