South bend lathe

erstrauss

Registered
Registered
Really hope I can get some help here. My father left a garage full of machining equipment in his garage. I'm a mechanic for a Chevy dealer not a machinist. there is a south bend lathe 10k. 10 swing. 22 across if that makes sense to anyone. He was super Einstein and anal about his shop. I have an inventory list for the lathe totaling 7100.00. I have done a little research and it seems some inventory was used to rebuild the lathe but I'm lost on the rest. I can't put the tooling on the inventory list with a tool in the garage because I honestly have no l clue what I'm looking for. I would like to sell it as a package or I'll be stuck with tooling. any ideas on putting the inventory list together with the tools and can I get .50 on the dollar for machines and tooling for it

A SB 10 is a sought after lathe. If it was rebuilt, it should go for a good buck, but you won't get the full amount unless the parts are NOS and sought after. (wear parts are desirable) and you can sell them on flea bay, but then you have to pay them also. Being out in the west will also jack up the price

Trying to sell as a package would probably bring less than selling pieces separately

NOS stands for New Old Stock, which means factory parts that have been stockpiled somewhere long after they're no
longer available from the manufacturer. Folks that restore old cars who buy old OEM parts that have been sitting on
the shelf are buying NOS parts.

Wear parts are parts that wear out with use and therefore are typically in demand. Bearings, bushings and so forth would be examples
of them.

Many of the older machines no longer have factory parts support, so if your Dad was able to rebuild it with new parts, that
would make the machine more desirable. If there are spare parts in the inventory, that's even better.

If you could post photos of what you have, we can help identify what you've got and offer suggestions on how best to