Squaring a Sherline 8-Direction Mill

neonachronism

Registered
Registered
Hi all,

I'm still very new to this, so while I tried to read everything I could, I'm sorry if I missed some pertinent information.

About a week and a half ago, I received the 8-Direction Upgrade for my 5400 (actually a Lathe Vertical Milling Column, 15" Column Upgrade [added later], and 12" XY base). It has a DRO hand wheel on each axis. I'm still using the lathe headstock/motor on the mill.

I think I've managed to square up everything, but the headstock's rotation is off.

My tools are:
A Mitutoyo DTI.
A Noga NF1022.
A Beall ER-32 collet chuck and a Techniks 5/16th collet, purchased new, for holding the Noga.
A Starrett No. 20 square, from ebay. I validated this while squaring up the mill; once the column was dead square, I moved the square to the other side, and it still read dead square.

Here's what I did:

I measured the flatness of the bed with a DTI. Left-to-right differed by about 0.5 thou over roughly 4 inches, front-to-back, about 7 thou over roughly 3 inches.
I squared the column around the z axis with a DI (I repeated this step several times over the course of the procedure, as tapping the column put it out of square).
I then squared the column over around the x and y axes by first holding the square against the side and tapping until light came through evenly through the gap. Then, I swept across the square with the DTI and tapped the column until the needle no longer moved. For the y axis, I also made sure it read square from the other side.