Starting the search

Seuss54

Registered
Registered
Hello all, I've been crawling facebook marketplace for awhile and saw this just today. I was wondering if I might be able to get a second opinion on the listing as well as some advice on what to look for if i get the chance to take a look at it.

I'm hoping to set up a home hobby shop in a few months when I finally move out of my apartment like I've been hoping to do for a few years now so I want to get an idea of what I'm looking at when I see machines. I'm looking to make steam engines as well as clocks and other geared mechanisms mostly so I also am open to advice on what specifically machines to look for. I am new in hands on practice to the machining game but I've been reading a lot and have (like many people) been watching youtubers for years.

I'm not afraid to get out of my comfort zone and I love older machines, just the styling and the simple complexity are a big draw for me but obviously I have nothing to start out so fixing one up will come with the price of needing someone else to make parts if necessary.

First, I have a soft spot for that style of South Bend so the rest of my comments are not hating on them. They’re tough. They’re fairly large. That one doesn’t seem to have a chip tray. You’ll constantly fight chips on the floor. Looks like it has a taper attachment which can be handy. Does it have a steady rest? They can be found but are often expensive. The price is not a bargain but may be fair if the bearings and ways are in very good condition.