• We want to encourage those of you who ENJOY our site and find it USEFUL to DONATE and UPGRADE your membership from active member to donating or premium membership. If you want to know the differences in membership benefits, please visit THIS PAGE:

https://www.hobby-machinist.com/premium/

Donating memberships start at just $10 per year. These memberships are in fact donations that help pay our costs, and keep our site running!
    Thank you for your donation, God Bless You

• I apologize to anyone who is disappointed with their experience on The Hobby-Machinist.

Anyone who made a donation within the last year who would like a refund, please PM me and I will refund your money.

Again, my apologies.

Nelson

[4]

Stuck Quill Locks on Atlas QC54 Tail Stock

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

GerryS

Swarf
Registered
Hello,
I am a rank beginner to this.

The quill on the tailstock turns, but with great difficulty. It seems the quill locks are stuck mostly closed. I can't get the quill out because once off the thread it is too tight to pull.
Any suggestions on how to free the quill locks? I think they have sat for a long time not in use as the guy mostly did small pieces using the chuck on this lathe for decades.

Thank you.

[I made this over in Atlas, I don't see a way to delete it here. Sorry.]

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
I guess I would start with a 50/50 mix of acetone and automatic transmission fluid. Soak anything you can get to. Loosen the lock screw and tap on it with a soft hammer or punch. Then try to work the quill in and out. Eventually it should loosen up.

GerryS

Swarf
Registered
Hello,
Thank you. That is what I have been trying to do although I have been squirting it in as I didn't want to lose the original paint. I am not sure the fluid is getting in between as it is so tight. I just put some more in. Do you think soaking would work?