Suppressor Baffle Machining

gun410

Registered
Registered
Hello

I have recently found this forum and I’ve been posting a bit on the beginners forum. I’m fairly new to machining and this is my first forum 1 silencer. I’m working on turning the baffles and I have run into a problem. I plan on making these baffles in the following order.
1-Drill the Bore
2-Profile inside of cone
3-Profile outside of cone
4-Part off cone

The soon to be baffle has been clamped in the 3 jaw since step 1 to ensure concentricity. The first blast has been drilled and bored to correct ID. I was originally planning on using a boring bar to profile the inside 60° cone but that would be hard to reach that deep into the baffle when it has a longer skirt. So I got a 1” 60° countersink, I’ve started cutting a little bit with the countersink but I have no way to tell my correct depth and it should be precise otherwise i won’t get the desired .06” thick cone. If there are any forum 1 builders that could lend some suggestions would be appreciated.
8f6a25182eb7a7ab82515b94279f9b05.jpg
ef1e78acf802b216e00bb7843ab96cbf.jpg

How about a dial indicator set up on your tailstock?

You can mount a DRO (or an old caliper) to your tailstock to get the correct depth. Alternatively, use your compound slide to move a boring bar in and out of the hole at 60* to make that cut. Much more controlled and flexible.

I’ve been wanting a tailstock dro but I’m still without a mill so I wouldn’t be able to make the brackets to mount it.

Alternatively how would you be able to get the correct depth with an boring bar? Also it would be tricky to get a boring bar inside the baffle with enough range of motion for the cone.

Maybe there is a more simple way to do this operation?