TAP PROBLEM

riversidedan

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
Am self taught with no one around to help and have a alot to learn .......right now am having a tap/die problem, drilled a hole for a tap and the drill was 9/32
then used a M8 1.25 tap. I can get about 1/8in. in the 6061 part then it stops and wont go any further. the part that needs die cut is steel which I tried to use a floating die setup from the TS but the die wont start cutting even when I chamfer the part , I tried both sides of the die still no luck

so we got 2 problems going on , tap and die

Attachments

• 100_3598.JPG
    100_3598.JPG
    379.3 KB · Views: 46
First off, I'll confirm that 9/32 is an OK tap drill for M8x1.25 ... a bit oversize if anything, but that would make it easier to tap, rather than more difficult.

It's not exactly clear from your photo, but that looks like a bottoming tap. These have a relatively short nose taper, so you'd be trying to cut too deeply with just the first few cutting edges. If it's indeed a bottoming tap, change to a "plug" tap and try again. Also be sure to use a good quality threading lube.

What kind of steel are your tap and die? "Carbon steel" is sometimes what cheap taps and dies are made of, and is inferior. High speed steel is what you'd want.

bottom tap is correct,didnt know a taper tap would make a big diffrence but will definitly try it. tap/die set from HF .......I know I know just dont laugh too hard, if its that much of a problem they can go in the junk drawer, no biggy