Tapping Head

woodchucker

Registered
Registered
I saw a video , I think doubleboost, maybe someone else. They used a Speeder (English for reducer). The English ones are way nicer than the American units. But I'm too cheap to get one and ship it over. At the price I could buy a tapmatic. I bought this one on ebay for $6 a few months ago.
Anyway, the American unit is big, and does not lend itself well to conversion. Right now starting to consider my options. I will use red loctite to secure the reversing feature which does not work as expected. So I'll use my reverse to operate.
I am considering an ER11 or ER16 for this. The shaft is hardened and bored, so its not a good fit for the collet chucks available. I am considering annealing it, turning it, welding a plug in to mount the collet chuck.
I have no experience with the ER11 or 16, looking for opinions, on which way to go. Thinking the 16 would offer me upto 1/2 tapping.. BTW you let go of the ring and it stops tapping, so no need to worry like tapping and waiting for the inertia to stop rotating.
TappingHead.JPGER16.jpg

The tapping heads I remember using, (20+ years ago) you feed the quill down until the tap stopped, then hand cranked the quill up, the pressure on the tool reversed rotation and it unscrews. Wish I had one, I'd be using it all the time.

I have one of those that's made to tap with. It was my job to use a hand drill with it to tap holes missed in valve bodies back around 1975. Cast iron and brass mostly . It works well and reverse is great . Ridgid I think maid them two models I know of one for screwdrivers and the other with collets . Mines out in my giant snap on summer home . I take care of my tools and it's complete box and all adapters. They work on drill presses you grip half of the machine to go one way or the other. The stronger your grip the more power to tap or reverse.IMG_20180312_031234.jpgIMG_20180312_031158.jpg

Last edited: