TECO L510 (L510-101-H1) e-Stop / rapid stop help

jhinze1970

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
I have the inverter running, external forward - stop - reverse switch and pot. I'm trying to wire an E-Stop and it's working reverse of what I imagined (do I have wrong switch?)

I have an ABB CE4P-10R-02 switch from Galaco. Pull it out and it is open, push the button it's closed. Switch contactors I believe are wired normally closed. There are 4 terminals on it.

I have 03-04 set to 14 on the VFD, one leg of the switch is wired to common, the other leg is put into S5 terminal (per diagram in the manual)

When I pull out the button, it activates the rapid stop... push it in, lets it run. I'd like it to work in reverse. Did I get the wrong switch? Is there some wiring trick I missed (I'm by no means an expert with wiring or circuits)

Any help would be appreciated..

Sounds like you need a N.O. Switch not a N.C. Switch.
Thanks... I just ordered one on Amazon... I got a similar reply on another forum.

Thank you for the reply!

Using a normally closed (NC) e-stop will work. Another option is to use parameter 03-09 to change the input sense.

Last edited:
Using a normally closed (NC) e-stop will work. Another option is to use parameter 03-09 to change the input sense.
You're a genius!

I had it wired like the diagram on 8-4, just didn't know it was possible to set the switch type. Had to set for all the switches, but it worked. THANK YOU!

My only complaint is that once invoked, I have to power cycle the vfd to get it out of e-stop... pulling out thr button doesn't clear it.. but that's minor.

My only complaint is that once invoked, I have to power cycle the vfd to get it out of e-stop... pulling out thr button doesn't clear it.. but that's minor.
Glad I could help, just a random tidbit I remembered. From the instructions (haven't tried it myself), if you hit your normal stop, and reset the e-stop, then the run should work without power cycle(?).