The current state of machining education

hdskip

Active User
Registered
I posted this on another forum earlier today. I'm not sure this is the right place but here goes anyway. I'll not be offended if it is moved to a better spot.

First let me say that I'm a high school precision machining Instructor. I've been teaching for 20 years. I worked in industry for 24 years before that. Several things : Vocational education is dead, It's now career and technical education( A rose by any other name is still a rose). Much of this career education is now directed at the Community College level. That's where all the $$$$$$ is going.( college education). High school machining in Virginia has dwindled to about 12 programs state wide. Almost all of these programs seem to be pretty successful. By successful I mean EMPLOYMENT. My program has about a 90% placement rate. We are in a county which has a large number of manufacturing companies, both large and small. We can't recruit enough students to supply the demand. Sadly most parents want their kids to be doctors, lawyers and Indian chiefs. The technical education programs have taken it on the chin for many years. There seems to be a resurgence but when it all shakes out, it will have a different look than we are used to seeing. Most technical schools can use all the volunteer help they can get. This includes donation of excess supplies from individuals and industry as well as time from those with machining experience. I don't know of an instructor that would turn down a visit from a machinist to at least talk to his students about what happens in a real work place.