Think I screwed up my taper

iron1951

Registered
Registered
I have an Atlas 618 with a #1 MT in the tail stock. I was doing a half inch bore in a 1 inch dowel (mild steel) and after I got in about 1/4 to 1/2 inch the male taper rotated in the tailstock quill. Now the Morse taper won't grab properly. There looks like matching chatter marks on the male and female tapers. Can this be "touched up" or am I looking at new parts? Thanks

I'm no expert and have never done this but I understand that you will need to remove the raised burrs from the ID of your tailstock tapered bore. They make reamers for the MT bores but you might get by with a Dremel tool. A good smooth male taper and some bluing should tell you how bad it is. The burrs from the mating male part will need to be cleaned up also but that should be straight forward, clean and fit.

Benny

A reamer would be my first choice, but you could touch it up by hand. I always seat morse tapers firmly with a lead hammer and remember to extend the quill out past its ejection point so it will be completely seated. You can use a little chalk on the taper to keep it from slipping. It's not as bad as it might seem

correct I use blue carpenter snap line chalk with good results I have even chucked a drill and taped
fine sand paper to it and went in there use wet paper & spray carb cleaner just like honing brake
cylinders for this I find carb cleaner works better than wd.

I have even chucked a drill and taped
fine sand paper to it and went in there use wet paper & spray carb cleaner just like honing brake
cylinders.
Good thinking 99

Cheers Phil

I have an Atlas 618 with a #1 MT in the tail stock. I was doing a half inch bore in a 1 inch dowel (mild steel) and after I got in about 1/4 to 1/2 inch the male taper rotated in the tailstock quill. Now the Morse taper won't grab properly. There looks like matching chatter marks on the male and female tapers. Can this be "touched up" or am I looking at new parts? Thanks