[Deals] Thoughts On This Mini Lathe/mill Deal?

TS3g

Registered
Registered
Hello! I'm a newbie to the machining world and am on the market for a lathe primarily, but have an interest in a mill as well (because why not have both right?). I haven't had any luck finding used machines that fit my needs/desires in my area (Central Kansas), or even some of surrounding states, but I did come across this ad on Craigslist today. I can't post links yet (not enough posts), but here's the description:

For sale is both a 7x12 Cummins Metal Lathe and a Vertical mill and all tooling. There is a long list of tooling included. The lathe has both three and four jaw chucks, face plate, steady rest, follower rest, quick change toolpost and threading gears. The mill has a boring bar, vise, set of parallels, R8 collets, center drill set, edge finder set, 1-2-3 blocks, clamp kit, etc.

This mill is unusual for a mini-mill in that is uses standard R8 tooling. Most of the tooling for both is new and looks to have had little use.

I will not separate, all will be sold in one lot. $1000.00

The mill is actually a Homier Speedway Series mini mill, so virtually identical to the HF 44991. The machines appear to have some slight surface rust on the beds and stuff, but other than that, appear to be in near near perfect condition. The pictures show the tooling from the description, and it all appears to be correct as well.

The machines are smaller than I ultimately want, but I don't have the space or power for bigger machines, nor do I have much machining experience, so I'm thinking they would be a good way to get my feet wet in the machining world. Plus, I also have plans to turn a mini lathe into a Mittler Bros Ultimate Tubing Notcher clone, only without the $4,500 price tag, so even when do I eventually upgrade, I have a plan for the mini lathe regardless.

So am I crazy or does this sound like a decent deal? When I get my 5 posts in, I'll post the ad link. Thanks for looking.