Thread Forming Taps

shoeboxpaul

Active User
Registered
Hello, wondering if anyone has experience in this area. I want to clean up the threads in an engine block, 7/16-14. I know about the thread chasers sold by Craftsman, Snap-on and others and have used them in the past but, do not own any. A thread forming tap makes threads without removing metal and I have no experience with them. Since the threads in the block already exist, my thought is that a thread froming tap would just push the threads back into a uniform shape and remove no metal, leaving a stronger thread.
Anyone ever try this?

You are write that is the way they work no metal is removed. I used to for Besly tap co. and are very familiar with forming taps. They were originally made for soft metal but as they were further developed you could use them on steel. The drill chart is different than a cutting tap, so keep that in mined if using in a new hole. I would think it would work great in a engine block. The besly co. was the original inventor of the x-press tap, and had the patent on it. Is the block cast iron or aluminum ? If it is cast iron i would not use a forming tap

Last edited:
Since thread forming taps are generally not recommended for tapping new threads in cast iron, I wouldn't think that they would be your best alternative for thread chasing either.

Ted