Threading question

fishingreg

Registered
Registered
Hello Again,

As anyone who saw my parting off question, you know I am very new at this. I have probably only had 3 or so hours of play time on my lathe. I have been playing with 1.5" steel rod. I have been doing test external threads and they have been going well. I would turn some threads, smooth them off, do another set of another Tpi and repeat the process. I stayed within the TPI range of my tool. So far so good. My question is as far as I can tell one of the last steps is to just touch off the sharp crown of the treads with a file. I have been doing that. If the specs call for say .500 majors, is that before or after I touch a file to them? If after, how much do most of you allow to be filed off when you do the initial turn to major OD?

Also, what do you use to measure the minors/root or do you go off how deep you run the tool in? I am using dial calipers but I know they can not get all the way down into the root due to how narrow it is so I am not sure my minor reading is accurate. I do have some thread wires on the way so maybe that solves that question but I thought I would ask. I have tested nuts on my threads and they work just fine but I am sure by spec they are either a little sloppy or tight due to my lack of knowledge and just playing around so far.

Thanks,
Greg

The important part of the thread is the pitch diameter, which can be measured with thread wires or a thread micrometer. For all but the fussiest threads, the root size can just be what remains after hitting the pitch diameter. Filing the thread is just to remove any burs, don't get carried away and try to stop at the turned size before threading. Ultimately, for a home shop thread, what matters most is how it fits the female thread it will be used with, not too loose, not too tight, Goldilocks...