Tiny lathes will humble you.

addertooth

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Long ago, when the Earth was still bubbling, I was a machinist. In my local area the bottom fell out of the machining and fabrication market, so I switched back to electronics and design. I had always wanted to build a small shop (for hobby work), with no plans of having large equipment. The fact my small shop area only had 115 Volt AC available set some constraints. But all that said, I had heard horror stories of how badly some of the 7 by (10/12/14/16) lathes chattered and assumed it was horror stories told to scare the children. After all, a proper tool grind, tool height, keeping the extension from the tool post short, the right cut depth, and feed and speed always dealt with chatter on the lathes I used to operate.

I recently purchased a 7 X 16 lathe, and have been in the process of levelling and trueing the lathe. I did some "play cuts" with aluminum and brass without a problem in the world. I decided to make a real part out of cold rolled steel, and the humbling began immediately. It seemed to have very narrow ranges of feed and speeds which seemed to keep the carbide "chatter free", and often that was at the upper end of what the carbide would tolerate. I realize the standard rejoinder is "get a bigger lathe"; that mantra is quite familiar. However, due to space, a bigger lathe really isn't going to happen (I have to leave the space for a mill and a few other tools).

Tomorrow I am going to try some changes in my grind to see if that will make things happy, but I must say, I had expected cold rolled steel to be a bit easier. It will probably end up being something simple. I remember dealing with super hard bearing brass eons ago, it actually required the carbide to be slightly below the center line to cut cleanly without chattering (that and a reverse rake). At any rate, there is a sweet spot to be found, and I am sure it is out there somewhere.