Total Newbie question about my 4902 feed direction.

vt-biketim

Active User
Registered
The manual says: Feed lever in upper position, carriage travel towards headstock. Right, but—when I engage the half nuts the motion is away from the HS. Is this normal for these lathes?

Tim

Does it have a feedshaft/leadscrew direction selector?

The manual says: Feed lever in upper position, carriage travel towards headstock. Right, but—when I engage the half nuts the motion is away from the HS. Is this normal for these lathes?

Tim

Does it have a feedshaft/leadscrew direction selector?

Yes, three positions. Middle=neutral, lead screw doesn't turn. Upper=moves towards HS when long. feed on apron is engaged. Lower=moves away from HS when long. feed lever engaged. I cleaned and lubed all this stuff over the last few months and it all seems to work fine, but the half nuts move the carriage in the opposite direction from the apron worm drive.

Sorry, hang in there and be patient. I need to ask more questions.... When you say longitudinal feed, do you mean the cross feed? That is, the feed you would normally use to face a plate or end of a shaft? If so, one would not normally auto operate the carriage (left or right) simultaneously with the auto cross feed. That's a dangerous combination and most modern lathes have mechanical lock-outs to prevent it.

FWIW: On all the manual lathes I've used, there's usually a way to change rotational direction of the leadscrew. When it's set to move the carriage toward the HS, the compound will move toward you (as if you were facing a piece from the center out to the edge). I've always assumed this is a built-in safety to prevent a crash.

I'm obviously not familiar with your lathe but, I've operated a good handful of manual lathes and just trying to help out.

Ray