Unheated Shop Lubrication Issues

Littlebriar

Registered
Registered
This is my first post and I'm a real newbie on this stuff. Please be kind.
This past summer I bought a Grizzly lathe and drill/mill. I only use the equipment occasionally. They are in an unheated shop in Michigan so it can get pretty cold. I was using the mill yesterday and the motor to lift the head really struggled to move the head up. It was even a bit hard to crank it up. Once it started moving the motor would work OK. I had no such problems when the shop was warmer. I called Grizzly tech support and they suggested I clean the grease off the jack screw and replace it with a light oil. He also suggested to go back to normal lube in the Spring.
I'll give that a try but wanted to ask a broader question. What lube do you use for your equipment in sub freezing temps, including the ways? I did a quick search on the forum and couldn't find the answer.
Oh, oh...another lube thread, but with a twist.

Welcome to the forum. I am sure your question will see many responses. I live and work in a very moderate climate so I don't face the issues of Cold and Rusty environments that others see so no practical experience that I can offer. I do wonder if there is a way to heat machine a little prior to use? Heat strip or Radiant heater aimed at the machine for an hour or so before use. just to try and warm up the machine not heat the shop?

At the ski areas I worked at we used Lubriplate MAG-1 grease (https://www.lubriplate.com/Products/Multi-Purpose-Greases/MAG-00-and-MAG-1.aspx) for equipment that operated in both winter and summer. A little more expensive than generic grease but when you have 500 bearings 50 ft. in the air on a single ski lift it is impractical to change greases with seasons.