Using my gauge block wrong?

drcrea

Registered
Registered
I'm new to metrology and have been watching a bunch of youtube videos on how to measure various things. I came across one such video by Suburban Tool from about 8 years ago where they were measuring a surface plate for flatness. Not to certify or anything, but just to get a general idea of the flatness. In the video he was using a gauge block between the test indicator and the surface plate. So after watching the video, I grabbed one of my brand-new Mitutoyo Grade-AS-1 gauge blocks and my test indicator and I was off to collect some measurements.

After taking a number of measurements, I noticed that I was imparting some light surface scratches in my highly polished, previously perfect, gauge block. Seems sliding the block around on the granite surface left very, very, light scratches. Now one side is no longer a perfectly mirrored surface :(

My questions:
Should I not have used my gauge block in this manner?
Is it normal, and expected, that a gauge block will get light scratches in the mirrored finish from use and this is perfectly fine?
Is there anything I can do to restore the perfect mirror finish, e.g. like polishing with toothpaste or something similar, that won't change the block? (it's that fine)

It would seem that your surface plate is not particularly clean. it is more like a lapping plate with coarse abrasive particles on it. In my opinion, gage blocks should not be used in situations where a lot of sliding is involved, perhaps a 123 block would be a better choice, in addition to s thourough cleaning of the plate.

I agree.

Here's a dump of ideas surrounding the use of a surface plate and gauge blocks: They are so often used together that they have to be treated with the same respect...

----