Using & trusting a brand-new Starrett 98-6 machinist's level

cazclocker

Purveyor of cheese.
Registered
I just bought a new Starrett 98-6 machinist's level. I bought it to help level and tram my new mill from Little Machine Shop, and to keep it leveled and trammed in an ongoing basis. I've never owned a level of this quality before. Then again, this is my first milling machine too.

My question is about the adjusting thumbwheels I see on one end of the level. I have NOT touched them or fiddled with them in any way whatsoever. Am I supposed to assume that they came perfectly adjusted from the factory? If they ever go out of whack, how would I know? Seems to me I would never know. If I ever had to adjust it, what would I use as a reference?

I guess these questions show my unfamiliarity with this area of metrology - but there you are. I'm a newbie! :))

Place the level on a reasonably level flat surface. Note the reading, turn the level 180° and the reading should be the same. If the reading isn't the same, adjust until it is.

Place the level on a reasonably level flat surface. Note the reading, turn the level 180° and the reading should be the same. If the reading isn't the same, adjust until it is.

...........of course. Thanks Harvey, the answer is so SIMPLE! I am embarrassed to say I didn't think of that. But now I know!

I just recently purchased a 98-6 level myself, for my new PM 1236 lathe, and PM 962 Mill.

Using the level has been a great experience, and I have come up with all sorts of uses for it on the Mill, probably known and written about by others, I just have not been able to find anything similar to what I am doing.