[How do I?] Variable speed grinder

DavidR8

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Is it possible to add a variable speed control to a run-of-the-mill bench grinder?
I see that Delta makes a 6" and 8" variable speed model that looks identical to a non-variable speed version.
I thought just buying the speed control part might be the ticket but I see that it has a PC control board so there's obviously more to it than a rheostat.

Are you referring to something like this?

I'm no motor expert (paging the Doc @Ulma Doctor) but I do know those router speed controllers can only be used with brushed motors which bench grinders usually do not have. I've had one of those for like 25 yrs & I can't ever remember using it.

I'm no motor expert (paging the Doc @Ulma Doctor) but I do know those router speed controllers can only be used with brushed motors which bench grinders usually do not have. I've had one of those for like 25 yrs & I can't ever remember using it.
just a clarification....
i have successfully used a router speed controller to control brushless motors on fans
the motor doesn't necessarily have to be brushed to function.
the intention is for small motors of less than 1 hp with the router speed controller (15amps AC/DC universal type motor is advertised)

you can't start in the low speed setting, the motor is started in high speed, then reduced.
the technology is PWM, pulse width modulation in both the VFD as well as the humble router speed controller.
mind you, that there can't be a capacitor in the circuit, as the PWM doesn't play well with capacitor start or capacitor run systems

I believe the Jet variable speed grinder is a 3 phase motor with a VFD. The Delta says it is an induction motor, it might also be 3 phase with a VFD but... it also lists a separate capacitor in the parts list, has a relatively low price and a limited speed range... I suspect some trickery less than a "real" VFD.

just a clarification....