VFD enclosure recommendation

cpd62

Active User
Registered
Hi,
I just got an ABB ACS-150 VFD http://www.inverterdrive.com/group/ac-inverter-drives-230v/ABB-ACS150-01E-09A8-2/) for my new drill press motor.

I have a few questions (I'm a novice)

1. It has an enclosure NEMA 1 rated. I want to keep dust out (some here suggest NEMA 4). Is there a way to do this without getting another box such as putting a fine mesh over the vent holes on the top and bottom? Or can anyone recommend some generic plastic electrical boxes to mount this into? Seems like I'd want to keep the box closed and the controls available through a sealed hole. It looks like it's ready to be mounted and all packaged well. It just seems like dust would easily get into the board

2. Do I need a brake or is that optional? It has 2 connections for that. I haven't even looked up what that is (I'm assuming a fuse connection).

3. I've wired motors and lights but am not familiar with the nomenclature: U1/L, V1/N, W1, U2, V2, W2.

Thanks,
Christian

Hello Christian,
The ABB is a top-end VFD.The link you provided goes to a British supplier site. Since you are apparently in Mass, I am a little confused. However, the equipment is pretty much the same either way.

Enclosure: you say it is NEMA 1 rated. The basic drive comes in a plastic IP20 enclosure. The IP20 is suitable for clean environments where physical damage to the drive is unlikely. ABB really thinks you are going to put this in a control panel. It appears that they also offer a NEMA 1 kit to bring the IP20 enclosure up to NEMA 1 specifications. I take it that you have the ABB NEMA 1 kit?