WalkerTurner problem

chipmunk

Registered
Registered
I have a 1924 (the cross slide and tailstock were cast in 1924) Walker-Turner wood/metal turning lathe. Regardless the pressure I put on the tailstock locking lever, I can still turn the tailstock quill.
Does anyone know how to fix the problem so I can lock the quill?

IMG_3645.JPG IMG_3646.JPG IMG_3647.JPG IMG_3648.JPG IMG_3649.JPG IMG_3650.JPG

I'd expect there to be a key and keyway involved in the bore of the tailstock and the tailstock ram. If so, the key must be absent. An easy fix. If there is no key or keyway, look for a pin and slot to guide the ram. I have no firsthand knowledge or that model, but it's a common practice. Have any pictures of the bore of the tailstock and/or ram?

I'd expect there to be a key and keyway involved in the bore of the tailstock and the tailstock ram. If so, the key must be absent. An easy fix. If there is no key or keyway, look for a pin and slot to guide the ram. I have no firsthand knowledge or that model, but it's a common practice. Have any pictures of the bore of the tailstock and/or ram?

Yes, there is a key and keyway on the bottom of the quill, but that simply guides the quill during the in and out movements by turning the handle.
The problem is that when I tighten the locking lever (in the last photo) it does not lock the quill. It gets more difficult to turn the handle but it does not lock it completely. On the left side of the (inside) quill sleeve there is an opening where I would expect the locking lever to make contact with the quill itself, but it does not. I know it doesn’t because I took the quill out and then looked inside the sleeve while turning the locking lever all the way home and still can not see the threads on the locking lever.