What is the correct way to remove a stubborn 3 jaw chuck 2-1/4 by 8 tpi ?

O

ome

Forum Guest
Register Today
Hi guys,
it has already happened once, so i better find the fix.
What is the safest way as to not damage the chuck, spindle, ways.....
to remove a 6 inch 3 jaw plain back threaded buck chuck ?
Thanks,
jon

So far I've gotten by with a slap on the chuck key or a piece of wood between the jaws but the best way is probably to chuck a piece of hex stock and put a wrench on that. I'm a newbie though.

Thanks, from one newbie to another, that seems like an excellent idea. I find it odd that there is no spindle lock, and even in back gears, i am able to get the gears to move, when i did not want any movement.
Hopefully one of the many great machinists will enlighten this topic.
Thanks,
Jon

Oh I have a Logan too. You can lock the spindle easily. You just need to pull out the back gear knob but leave the pin in the bull gear engaged to lock up the spindle. Make sure you put the back gear knob back in again before you start it up or you'll have broken back gear teeth if the belt doesn't slip.

I had this exact thing happen a few months ago with a backplate alone and no chuck, on a 2-1/4 8 spindle. The backplate had voids which caused the cut to bang. So I put a little drag on the outside of the plate to reduce the bang, and save the backgears. THIS got the back plate on good and tight!! Hah hah! Lesson learned.

I used an old leather weight belt and a two-foot bar and made a huge strap wrench. I then ran the machine slow, backwards, in backgear. I arranged the bar and belt to grip the backplate, but fall apart if I let go or pulled the bar to the side, if something went wrong.

BUT- Easiest solution with a complete chuck is to lock up the backgear, grab a long bar sideways in the front if the chuck and give SLOW, steady pressure. Then you shouldn't bust a tooth.

Bernie