What tooling can be made by an ammeter

andrew butt

Registered
Registered
I am a young person with limited experience in machining my father has some machine tools and i am wondering what tools e:g tap wrench, hammer, center punch i could make with only a lathe a mill and a few hand tools

i would be grateful for any ideas

thankyou
andrew

'with only a lathe a mill and a few hand tools' what can be made? Whatever you can envision really. My Professors are here & on UTube. i am only a student. Whatever it is you desire to create: Someone has documented their version of accomplishing it. Who knows: You might have a better idea or approach!

thankyou for your ideas and that document
i have all ready made a clamp a center punch and a brass hammer in metal shop class at school and have really enjoyed it
any more ideas would be apreciated

With "just" those tools you can do almost anything!

What tool post do you have now on the lathe?
If only a rocker or 4-way type, maybe you need to build an upgrade like a quick-change tool post.
There are a few styles look up Aloris, Norman (easier to make).
If you already have a quick-change, then how about some more tool holders?

User @mickri made a nice norman-style one here:
https://www.hobby-machinist.com/threads/tool-post-holder.69487/

You could make a carriage stop that clamps to the lathe bed; very useful for repeat parts.
Again there are many types, single finger, multi stop, indicator based ones, etc.

Is there anyway to mount a rear tool-post to your lathe. Those are great for parting.

How about tooling for the mill?
I know I can never find the slitting saw arbour that I need and usually have to stop and make one in the middle of doing something else.

There are several styles of mill vise stops that are useful; some clamp to the jaw edge, some to the table.
Look at the ones from Edge Technologies for ideas, then build your own version.