What Type Of Production Lathe Could This Be?

Looks to be a screw machine, a bit larger than then I once ran back in my teenage days. That was the most boring machine in entire shop.
We would run 500K parts before re tooling for different run. Set up was fun for me, but then you simply loaded round bar for the most part.
I made a **** ton of valve stems as a kid.

Thank you all for sharing your experiences and insight. After watching a few videos I can see he was on the back side probably retooling. It couldn't be a quick process. Turrets took time even with similar looking parts I can't imaging how much time it took for a screw machine.

I was a tooling engineer on bar stock machines and chuckers in the late 1970's at a GM manufacturing plant. These machines were very time-consuming to set up. Brazed tooling, many form tools. They were mainly used for roughing out blanks. Each spindle position would do a different portion of the blank. These machines would really hog off a large volume of material, but no way were they very accurate. Part tolerances were always in the +/- 0.010" One part off every 20 seconds or so.
From the picture, it is hard for me to tell what make or model it is.

How are shave tools used with those machines?

I really had one talk with him about his career, as a machinist, when he found out I was one. Sadly he and Dad are gone now.

Thank you for sharing,

A shave tool is basically a form tool with a roller on the opposite side. The turned part would be between the form tool and the roller.
My first job was in a screw machine shop. We had 5 spindle Davenports and Single spindle Brown & Sharp #00 and #2. We made a lot of brass parts like distributor cap inserts. We would have trash barrels full of parts lined up on the shop floor. The chips were stored by tons in bins like coal bins. We used to run some parts where the customer would supply the bar stock and payment for the shop was made by keeping and selling the brass chips. Good money too.