Which Tool and Cutter Grinder?

7milesup

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Ok, so I am relatively new to machining but have an interest in sharpening my own end mills (and drills for that matter) but I seem to be spending a lot of time trying to figure out which grinder does what.

So my question is, which grinder (used preferably) will do end mills, including the sharpening of the side of the flutes? I was originally thinking of a used Deckel, but apparently without some extra jigs, it will only do the ends of the mills. Same thing with an Alexander 2CG. What about a Norton? I have thought about building a Quorn or a Bonnell (sp?) but not sure if I have the time. The Bonnell is simpler to build from my understanding. I have also purchased Harold Halls book on milling and the cutter grinding jig, but it seems limited and cumbersome, but maybe it is just limited because of my limited knowledge ;) I would certainly be up to building his grinding jig if it does what I need it to do. There are also the Universal T&C grinders made in China (or Taiwan preferably) that are appealing because of their small footprint and cost (yes, I know you get what you pay for, to a point). Here is a link to one of them. There is a guy on YouTube that refined one by doing some refining on some of the parts using Moglice to provide better surfaces.

So, what say you? :)

Sharpening the flutes of endmills requires a feeler to hold the right rotation angle and a bearing that permits rotating and sliding at the same time.

I haven't made the accessories yet for Hall's tool rest, but the process is the same as far as I can tell with his attachment as it is on a Deckel, etc. The pro equipment has air bearings, etc, to make the process smoother, but conceptually it's the same.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk