Would a Variac transformer work on my 110v Rong Fu RF-30?

upjeeper

Registered
Registered
i was thinking about going with a VFD and 3 phase motor to control the speeds on my RF-30 but a coworker told me to look into a Variac transformer. would this kind of thing work to control speeds?

I'm no expert but I don't think Variac transformers can be used on capacitor start motors.

You can't use a Variac to control an induction motor. It would work with a universal motor; brushed motor with field windings instead of permanent magnets but even then, it won't give the best performance at low speeds as torque will drop drastically, For universal motors such a variable speed drills, an SCR controller works better.

Using a variac will not work for a single phase capacitor motor. A VFD with a 3 phase motor or BLDC is a better option.

You can't use a Variac to control an induction motor. It would work with a universal motor; brushed motor with field windings instead of permanent magnets but even then, it won't give the best performance at low speeds as torque will drop drastically, For universal motors such a variable speed drills, an SCR controller works better.
"brushed motor with field windings instead of permanent magnets"? Didn't you mean brushed motor with permanent magnets instead of field windings. Or you could wire the field windings with a constant proper voltage. And then just vari the armature.

Like a vacuum cleaner motor- no perm magnets at all, just windings. Or router motor, blender motor, drill motor, etc.
Generally called "universal motors"

Last edited: