YL620 VFD Drive stopped working on my 2x72 Grinder

DSB123

Registered
Registered
Hi All,
Hoping for some help and pointers here if at all possible. My 2x72 belt grinder has stopped working. I tried to use it today and it will not start. I have a YL620 VFD wired up to a potentiometer and until today everything seemed to be working great. Today the main display on the VFD is flashing and FOR light is on. When I turn the potentiometer (remote) the display shows increasing frequency but the motor on the grinder does not start at all. Not sure where to start looking. The ambient temperature today is low and the grinder is in my garage - could it be the low ambient temperature that is the problem? I am new to VFD's.

Thanks.

Is there a factory reset button somewhere on the unit? Unfortunately these things are too complex to repair unless you have a bench full of electronic test gear and schematics and even with that, getting replacement parts and soldering surface mount devices is enough to discourage anyone
Is the unit recently purchased? Your credit card company may be able to get your money back
-M

The flashing "FOR" makes me think that the VFD is unhappy about something regarding the load. Try disconnecting the motor and turning on the VFD. Does it do the same thing? Also, check the motor for continuity. You should see something like 10-200 ohms, but not infinite and not zero.

If all that is as expected, I think it's time to buy another VFD.

Is it possible grinding dust got in there? If so, it's probably shorted something out. You could try to clean it, but that sort of thing usually fries transistors. I use a similar unit on my machines, but I remote mount the VFD to keep it away from dust. Cold shouldn't bother them, if anything solid state electronics generally prefer being cold.