Micrometers For The Beginner?

Kroll

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Guys it has come time for me to move up to micrometers,I really want to start to dial in my projects or should I say get it to where things fit correctly and quite just setting for close enough.I know that Starrett is everyones favorite and it would be mine also if I can find one in my budget.But what other brands are out there that would work well for a beginner that has a limited budget?I look over on ebay found lots of Starrett at what looks like a good micrometers but some have different #'s and some are .001 and others .0001 What I would like to find is one that will cover 0-1" then another 1"-2" but due to my limited budget I will need to search in the used market which means ebay I guess.Guys I am just a hobbyist making hobbyist projects so nothing being made for Nasa.
What should I look stay away from,is there one brand that looks good but not worth a penny?As you can tell,not knowing much about micrometers I really don't know what to ask other than for some guidance and maybe links to some information.Thanks ----kroll

Mike's are easier for me to use if they have a ratchet or slip device, so you always get a consistent reading. for my use, I went with .001 type.
I bought a larger 2-3 inch mike from Enco and it always zeros out on the included standard.