7" of Shapely Goodness

Dave Bonzo

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
So, I went to buy a lathe...but it seems that I'm not very good at doing that, because I ended up with a shaper instead.

Pictured: Things I've stuffed into the back of my Toyota, Item # 368

PXL_20230422_191513158.jpg

This was part of a package deal that included a somewhat-worse-for-wear Clausing 200 that I haven't entirely walked away from, yet; I honestly think the lathe is pretty decent, I just don't trust my own evaluation abilities enough to say whether or not I can bring it fully back up to spec...and I'm not good enough with a lathe to know whether the screw-ups are my own fault or that of the machine. That being said, the seller and I got along pretty well - me not nitpicking and bashing his tooling probably helped - so when I asked, he agreed to sell me this little thing. I think it's in pretty decent shape. See what I did, there?

Pictured: For reference, it's one of these.

PXL_20230422_232007429.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

I haven't finished fully assessing it, yet, but from what I can tell, it's pretty clean...well, rather, it isn't clean at all because it hasn't run in ten years or so, but it's clean underneath all the grime and dust. Attached are a few shots from when we unloaded it into my still-in-progress and very-crammed-full garage.

PIctured: From the front, including a fun little work light. Gonna have to keep that.

PXL_20230422_231945251.PORTRAIT.jpg

Pictured: Mmmmm...levers...

PXL_20230422_231957334.PORTRAIT.jpg

Pictured: Mmmmm...Japanned cast iron...I think.

PXL_20230422_231934245.PORTRAIT.jpg

Pictured: Not just one, but two intact guards...which is evidently kind of a thing, I'm told.

PXL_20230422_232031813.PORTRAIT.jpg

Pictured: Original motor? Made by Sunlight, via Packard Electric. Gotta look this one up.

PXL_20230422_232043417.PORTRAIT.jpg