A little collet help for a newbie?

Bob Loers

Registered
Registered
Hello all, my name is Bob Loers and I am relatively new here. I have been skimming and reading posts here for the last 6 months or so and have learned so much. I am a beginning machinist. I have been working metal most of my life but have recently purchased a Burke MVN mill and I am addicted. I have a problem though, I had purchased a slitting saw with an R8 arbor and was pretty deflated when I tried to use it. I found out that, for whatever reason, my mill does not use R8 collets. I think they are MT3 but I'm not sure where to look for the correct sizes. I see 3/8-16 drawbar collets but I think mine is 1/2-13. Is this weird er what? can someone please clue me in? left is R8, right is mine.20201207_122836[1].jpg

Hi Bob,

There are a number of standard tapers.
I can't hazard a guess by looking at it.

I would have to check it with a caliper against some tables to be sure.

This wikipedia page has tables for a number of the most popular tapers:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Machine_taper#Morse

As for draw bars I have four or five different sizes all made from all-thread with a long coupler nut at the top end to spread the force of knocking it to dislodge the taper across multiple threads.

The Burke page over at lathes.co.uk:
http://www.lathes.co.uk/burke/
does NOT list the MVN model.
However the #0 has a B&S #7 and the #1 has a B&S #9.

-brino

EDIT: VintageMachinery also has some Burke documents here:
http://vintagemachinery.org/mfgindex/detail.aspx?id=132&tab=3
however they don't mention "MVN" either.

Last edited:
if i'm not mistaken B&S #7 takes a 3/8"-16 drawbar, the B&S #9 take the 1/2"-13