Another single point threading question, sorry guys.

Moderatemixed

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
The background..... a quick history. I decided to make a drawbar to hold a new to me Albrecht Drill Chuck in my Mill. Day 1, 6 hours, 3/8” thread (via Die) perfect, 1/2” thread (via Die) not straight. Morning Day 2, 3/8” thread (via Die) perfect, 1/2” thread, light single point, finished by Die, not straight again. Afternoon, 3/8” via single point, perfect. 1/2” via single point perfect, except......

The material was reduced from .500 to .492 Threads are perfect but the finished diameter is .464 and the nut is loose fitting. So what happened? How do I account for loss of diameter when threading? Thoughts anyone? Yes, this is my first time single point threading but how did I mess up SO badly.

Regards all, and thanks in advance.

Cheers.

Derek.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Is it an adjustable die, or was the die off center? For nice threads, I would nearly always single point to finish size, but a little undersize on OD rarely makes any difference in thread fit; for long threads I use a Geometric die head held in a aloris holder. Button dies are a poor proposition on lathe work, even with a well fitting holder that positively centers and guides the die.

I'll jump in, but others may also. First guess, your diameter reduction is you went too far when single pointing. Maybe you went to a chart depth of cut. There are two ways to get there, get close and thread your chuck on (sneak up until you get the fit you want), second get some thread wires and measure them. The first yields matched parts, the second yields a "standard" thread. Following up with dies yields a thread of the die tolerance, if they are not straight, you are not holding the die perpendicular to the lathe axis – lots of die holder videos out there.