Are there any alternatives....

Harlech

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
To the big 3 micrometer / indicator manufacturers? I am just starting out, and don't want to lay several hundred dollars into a few mics and indicators straight off. I know there are some way cheap import stuff... I assume some is good to a degree, but I have no idea what import brands are OK quality wise, or even if there are any mid-price alternatives to Starrett / Brown & Sharpe / Mitutoyo.

Harlech

I would look for good used ones on ebay, flea markets, & locals ads. That's what I did instead of buying new Chinese imports. Some Chinese import brands do have some decent stuff though like Insize, Shars, igaging. Like one of these companies can have some tools that are decent but have others that are junk. Also some of the big name brands have economy line tools that are more affordable. Still I would buy used but that's me.

Some I have bought new but the majority of my measuring tools were quality name brands bought used in great to excellent condition. I'm picky when it comes to condition so I may pay a bit more for things sometimes but still got them for a fraction of what they would cost new. Like I got a 0-6" set of Accupro micrometers made by Scherr-Tumico for $200 shipped, brand new in the wooden case on ebay. They may not the greatest but way better than any Chinese imports & were cheap. Plenty of good deals to be found if you are patient.

Some other brands to look at used are Tesa, Compac, Interapid, Etalon, Helios, Mahr-Federal, Lufkin, Scherr-Tumico (or just Tumico before they merged with Scherr). I'm sure others can name more.