Atlas 618 - Using (larger) tool holders made for larger lathe

mjb356

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I'm trying to understand the implications of using/purchasing tool holders manufactured for a larger lathe. I recently purchased an Atlas 618 - 6 inch lathe with only 1 empty tool holder made for an Atlas 618. I need to buy more of various styles. I have an opportunity to purchase others intended for a larger lathe which will fit in my existing Atlas 618 tool post but can't tell how the tool bits will align with the work even with adjustability of the rocker.

I am new to using metal lathes and presently don't have knowledge or experience to understand the pros & cons and, with tooling being quite expensive, I don't want to waste money.

I would be grateful for any advice from member on the topic.....Thanks...Mike

Attachments

• IMG_1601.JPG
    IMG_1601.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 148
  • IMG_1602.JPG
    IMG_1602.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 152
My lathe came with a lantern style tool post like yours and I haven't used it once. I bought a quick change tool post from Phase ll and have been very happy with it. They are much more user friendly IMO.

My Atlas 618 came with a user-built 4-way toolpost. Like @Grinderman I bought a quick change tool post (Little Machine Shop) and only use the other toolpost for parting operations.

OTOH, I have a couple of BusyBee toolholders suitable for a lantern tool post. If you get down towards the western Greater Toronto Area, they are yours!

Craig

Thank you Grinderman and WCraig for your replies! Does this mean that if I get a QC tool post, that the size or type of tool holder I get won't matter because they are adjustable to accommodate "almost" any size holder? .... thx Mike