Atlas vs Chinese lathe?

Acem

Registered
Registered
I am trying to justify my decision and want some more experienced opinions on which lathe's to keep.

I have recently purchased an Atlas 618, Shop Fox M1099, and Grizzley G0791 lathes at an estate auction and need to decide which to keep. I'm leaning heavily to keeping the Atlas.

Here's the back story. I bought my first lathe/mill at harbor freight about 20 years ago. It was meager but got me very interested. Then I bought another lathe at harbor freight (12x36?) shortly later. I'm a farmer who does alot of maintenance work on my own and other peoples equipment. I'm not a machinist but have been taught enough by a friend to operate it and make it useful. I was an Engineer in my former life so I know enough about what should be done to be dangerous even if I don't have the skills to do it right.

That lathe ended up at a friends shop when I bought an 18-10 (18" by 10ft bed) South Bend with lots of tooling at an estate auction a few years ago. The quality of this 100 year old lathe made me want a smaller nice American made lathe. A friend who taught me to first appreciate the value of a lathe (30 years ago) had a very small old craftsman lathe he was able to do so many things with.