Atlas?

deadfrednc

Active User
Registered
Hey guys, I'm new to this so please bare with me. I bought a lathe from a friend of mine and the only thing I'm sure of is it's an atlas and that the bed has a plate on the end that says th42 I believe. I'll try to post pics of it soon but I guess before I really start using it or buying tooling for it I really need to learn more about my machine what it is and how to properly operate it. I've looked online for different things but I'm not sure what to look for so I've come up short on useful information. If pictures of anything particular is needed let me know and I'll try to get them up asap. Thanks in advance for any help.

So if you're saying you've got this lathe and no experience, I guess I'd suggest Tubalcain and Tom Griffin on youtube, and Harold Hall for books. Do try to get some in-person instruction because most any metal lathe will hurt you badly if you do something wrong. Wear safety glasses, don't wear sleeves or gloves, etc.

Post pictures. There's a large Atlas following that will be happy to offer help.

-Ryan

another source of help is Atlas' Manual of Lathe Operation.

it has a lot of information regarding your lathe.
i owned a 1953ish TH42, it was my first lathe. 10" swing x 42" long bed (36" between centers)
they are nice machines, you'll have a lot of fun learning and making things.

deadfred (please sign all posts),

TH42 means Timken tapered roller bearings on the spindle (the other choice at the time was babbit), Horizontal countershaft, and 42" long bed. A 42" bed will have approximately 24" distance between centers (one in the spindle and one in the tailstock with the tailstock at the right end of the bed). Another common descriptor is 10X24, which means 10" swing (the largest diameter that can be mounted and clear the bed, not the carriage) and 24" between centers.