Beginner Hobby Machinist Looking at a Cincinnati Mill. Can anyone tell me about this model?

simspace

Registered
Registered
Hi,
I am a beginner hobby machinist looking to possibly buy a Cincinnati mill.
It seems like a good option for me to start with. And I like the price point!
I know I'll have to do some work to it, but that does not concern me much.
Can anyone tell me about a little about this mill and if you think the price is fair?
He did say he's somewhat flexible on the price.

It's a 1HP Cincinnati Mill Serial# 6J1V52-302 asking $1,300 (obo)
I thinks I found some manuals online with variations of 6J1V52.
Since there is no power feed I'm thinking it's a type 1-A.
Also not much tooling other than a vice.

Thank you!
Chris

cinci-mill.jpg

cinci-mill2.jpg

cinci-mill3.jpg
62983796909__A9101A6E-DE62-4713-98D2-11AB6301303D.jpeg

Attachments

• 62983796909__A9101A6E-DE62-4713-98D2-11AB6301303D.jpeg
    62983796909__A9101A6E-DE62-4713-98D2-11AB6301303D.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 15
Those are beefy, rigid mills. I think you will be very happy with it. Good find
The table looks nice too. It might be missing a crank handle for the knee?
-Mark

Last edited:
When I got my ancient Cincinnati mill, I contacted Cincinnati Machine Tool thru their web-site "Contact Us" form.
They helped find the serial number, then with that they could tell me the date, weight, oil to use, etc.

I sent sent Cincinnati a message through their "Contact Us" form a couple of hours ago. Hoping I will hear back from them soon.

I found this manual that shows a Style 1-A which does not have a power feed quill. It looks similar to the one I am interested in. But I think that's a 1941 manual. Based on the research I've done so far on the 6J1V52 in the serial number, I think the mill I'm interested in might have be made in the mid-50s (maybe '56), but I'm not sure.

It does appear someone moved/lowered the spindle motor toggle switch on the mill I'm interested in.

1608175331616.png

Last edited: