Does anyone know how to make the HF 4 by 6 horiz/vertical bandsaw safer to use on vertical position?

O

ome

Forum Guest
Register Today
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie, and very safety conscious, and tonight when cutting some 1018 steel 3/16" thick, on the vertical set up, I felt very uneasy, as the blade guard was not made to come all the way down to the height you are cutting at.
This left about 4 inches of exposed blade, when working very close to the cutting area.
Does anyone know a fix or upgrade.
Do I just need to get a dedicated metal cutting vertical bandsaw?

Re: Does anyone know how to make the HF 4 by 6 horiz/vertical bandsaw safer to use on vertical posit

Rather than try to bring all the mods made to that saw here, please Google 4X6 Metal Cutting Band Saw. You will find plenty of info on it. If you do make one of the mods it would be nice to share it here. Here is just one of many.

http://www.mini-lathe.com/Bandsaw/Bandsaw.htm

"Billy G"

Re: Does anyone know how to make the HF 4 by 6 horiz/vertical bandsaw safer to use on vertical posit

If I remember correctly, the "lower" guide is also adjustable and can be raised quite a bit, and long with lowering the "upper" guide, there shouldn't be too much exposed blade. Besides, if you are pushing the stock so hard you are worried about slipping a finger into the blade, I'd think about a new blade. Also, if you are cutting contours, there are tooling aids that keep your fingers away from the blade.

If I remember correctly, the "lower" guide is also adjustable and can be raised quite a bit, and long with lowering the "upper" guide, there shouldn't be too much exposed blade. Besides, if you are pushing the stock so hard you are worried about slipping a finger into the blade, I'd think about a new blade. Also, if you are cutting contours, there are tooling aids that keep your fingers away from the blade.
Thanks Tony,