Does watching YT scribing make you cringe?

graham-xrf

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Not scribing scribing in general. I mean the kind I now often see on YouTube, where the Sharpie or layout fluid is there, and the point of the measuring caliper is used. The caliper is tilted slightly to get the other jaw over the edge of the metal, and he scrapes a line into the ink.

Sure - I get it that one might be using a Hong Kong eBay special bought for £8.50, and maybe you can scribe a line so gently the very loved Mitutoyo Analog Dial 6" won't care, but I still can't bring myself to do it!

For about the price of a cheepie digital, (the kind that can't return to it's zero), I got one of those vernier setting things with a roller and a carbide scribing rod sharpened as a one-side wedge.

I have an old Mitutoyo that I have been scribing lines with for 20+ years and there is no visible (or measureable by me) wear to the tips.

I also have several cheap HF calipers that also scribe just fine with no damage.

As long as you are only scribing ink and not trying to scribe the metal, it is fine.

Yes, it definitely makes me cringe, and I definitely think less of the folks doing it, it is not a workmanlike way of doing things.

I always use my old Tumico verniers for this . They're still going strong after 40+ years , but I also have an extra 15 or so good pairs that I would never use to do this . :grin: Shop quality tools are just that , shop quality .

I would never consider it. I use a combination square and scribe or surface plate and height gage for that purpose.