First Lathe for Learning

Rathmatik

Registered
Registered
Howdy,

I've been reloading for a couple of years and would like to get more into gunsmithing. My goal is to eventually be able to chamber my own barrels, but that is likely far off into the future due to space/cost reasons.

However, I'd like to start out with a small lathe for learning and doing small projects. I'm thinking I can also use this for small tools, etc. that might be useful for reloading. For example, it would be cool to make my own modified cases for the Hornady OAL gauge.

Currently, I'm interested in the Grizzly G0765 7x14 Lathe, https://www.grizzly.com/products/grizzly-7-x-14-variable-speed-benchtop-lathe/g0765. Does anyone have experience or insight as to whether this would be a good option? I like that it's not the absolute cheapest you can get and it seems to have some improved features over the 7x10 and 7x12 lathes out there, such as the HF one and similar models. It seems there are some decent upgrade options as well to help it run smoother, etc.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

You'll get a lot of good advice here. And even more help spending money ;)

Some common points:
1) Buy the best machine you can possibly afford, soon enough you'll want bigger/better.
2) There is a learning curve to deciding what works best for you
3) You'll spend at least as much money on accessories (tools) as you did on the original lathe

You'll get a lot of good advice here. And even more help spending money ;)

Some common points:
1) Buy the best machine you can possibly afford, soon enough you'll want bigger/better.
2) There is a learning curve to deciding what works best for you
3) You'll spend at least as much money on accessories (tools) as you did on the original lathe
Thanks! Haha yeah, I seem to get a lot of help spending money in the reloading world too.

Hi and welcome,